Looking for a tattoo studio in Shizuoka Prefecture? Here are eight we checked in October 2026, from a Shizuoka City studio run by a female artist to an appointment-only studio in Hamamatsu and an Izu studio that also does hand-poked work. For each one you'll find the styles, starting prices, deposit rules and same-day policy, all taken from the studio's own website and Instagram.
Key points
- We checked all eight studios' websites and Instagram in October 2026. OCEAN TATTOO in Shimoda last posted on Instagram in March 2026, so confirm it's open before you plan a trip
- Female artists: TATTOO STUDIO Gukky in Shizuoka City and CRAZY CAT TATTOO in Mishima
- Small pieces usually start at ¥10,000. Gukky's apprentices take model (monitor) bookings from ¥3,000 or ¥4,000
- Same-day tattoos: Gukky and CRAZY CAT TATTOO will fit you in if they have a free slot, but contact them first
- Shizuoka Prefecture bans tattooing anyone under 18, and every studio checks ID, so bring your passport
Want to compare more shops? Tattoo Japan lists 9 tattoo studios in Shizuoka Prefecture as of October 2026: 5 in Shizuoka City and 1 each in Hamamatsu, Mishima, Kakegawa and Shimoda. Search tattoo studios in Shizuoka.
How to Choose a Tattoo Studio in Shizuoka
A tattoo is for life, so it pays to choose carefully. Look at four things: where the studio is, what the artist specializes in, how the studio charges and handles deposits, and its age and ID rules.
Pick a Studio You Can Get To
Getting a tattoo often means more than one visit: a consultation, a design meeting and the session itself, and large pieces take several sessions. Shizuoka Prefecture stretches a long way from east to west, so choose an area you can reach easily.
Of the eight studios below, five are in Shizuoka City (three in Aoi Ward and two in Suruga Ward), and one each is in Hamamatsu, Mishima and Shimoda. If you live far away, HOCUS POCUS TATTOO offers consultations by phone, email or LINE.
Pick an Artist Who Specializes in Your Style
Every studio has its strengths. For traditional Japanese work, look at HOCUS POCUS TATTOO, FLAT TATTOO ARTS, Samurai Tattoo Studio and OCEAN TATTOO, which also offers hand-poked tattoos. SubLime ink focuses on black and grey, realism and fine line. Trick Box Tattoo covers everything from lettering and old school to Japanese work.
Browse each studio's website and Instagram for work in the style you want, and look for clean, even lines and solid color. You can collect reference images from Japanese traditional tattoo designs and fine line tattoo designs on Tattoo Japan.
Check Prices, Deposits and Cancellation Rules
Studios price work either by size or by the hour. Small pieces are usually priced by size and large pieces by the hour, though FLAT TATTOO ARTS quotes even large pieces by size. The price table in the next section compares all eight.
Six of the studios explain their deposit on their websites. Trick Box's figures come from its official site, which hasn't been updated since 2018:
| Studio | Deposit | What happens to it |
|---|---|---|
| Trick Box | ¥5,000–30,000 | Taken off the bill |
| Samurai | ¥5,500 (new clients) | Taken off the bill |
| FLAT | ¥10,000 | Paid in advance |
| HOCUS POCUS | ¥10,000 | Kept if you change late |
| Gukky | None | – |
| CRAZY CAT | Usually none | Taken off if charged |
At HOCUS POCUS TATTOO, changing your date the day before or on the day turns the deposit into a cancellation fee. FLAT TATTOO ARTS charges nothing if you cancel at least 10 days ahead, while CRAZY CAT TATTOO charges ¥5,000 for a change the day before and ¥10,000 on the day. If your travel plans could change, keep that in mind.
Check how you can pay, too: Gukky and CRAZY CAT TATTOO take cash only.
Check Age and ID Rules
Shizuoka Prefecture's youth ordinance says no one may tattoo a person under 18, or encourage or arrange it. Breaking the rule can lead to up to one year in prison or a fine of up to ¥500,000. (Source: Shizuoka Prefecture youth environment ordinance, Articles 3, 14-3 and 21, in Japanese)
Seven of the eight studios state on their websites that they don't tattoo anyone under 18, and HOCUS POCUS TATTOO, Gukky and CRAZY CAT TATTOO also turn away high school students who are already 18. Every studio checks ID, so bring your passport.
8 Tattoo Studios in Shizuoka
Below are eight tattoo studios in Shizuoka Prefecture. Prices are the guide prices on each studio's site and change with design and size.
| Studio | Area | Small piece | Hourly rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trick Box | Shizuoka City | From ¥10,000 | From ¥10,000 |
| Gukky | Shizuoka City | Coin size ¥10,000 | Not listed |
| FLAT | Shizuoka City | From ¥10,000 | None (by size) |
| HOCUS POCUS | Shizuoka City | Not listed | Not listed |
| SubLime ink | Shizuoka City | From ¥10,000 | ¥10,000 |
| Samurai | Hamamatsu | ¥10,000 + tax | ¥10,000 + tax |
| CRAZY CAT | Mishima | From ¥10,000 | From ¥10,000 |
| OCEAN TATTOO | Shimoda | From ¥5,000 | From ¥13,000 |
"Not listed" means the studio's website doesn't show prices. Trick Box's prices come from its official site, which hasn't been updated since 2018. Ask the studio for a quote.
Trick Box Tattoo (Shizuoka City)

Trick Box Tattoo is an appointment-only studio in Aoi Ward, Shizuoka City. It works in a wide range of styles, including lettering, old school, new school, tribal, black and grey and Japanese work. The site says its artist spent two years learning Western-style tattooing in the United States and trained for another year after returning to Japan. (Source: Trick Box Tattoo, in Japanese)
Design, size and colors are agreed in detail before the session, and the studio offers free aftercare touch-ups, such as sharpening lines or adding color that has faded. Ink, gloves and ink caps are single-use, and reusable equipment is sterilized after each session.
The studio doesn't tattoo anyone under 18 and asks every client for ID showing their age. Its Instagram bio names the artist as Shin.
- Address
- 5F, 7-6 Gokomachi, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka (白鳥ビル)
- Getting there
- The studio sends directions after you contact it
- Hours
- From 11:00, closed on irregular days
- Phone
- +81 54-270-5570
- Prices
- ¥500-coin size from ¥10,000, cigarette-pack size from ¥25,000, CD or postcard size from ¥50,000, large multi-session pieces from ¥10,000 per hour
- Deposit
- ¥5,000–30,000 depending on the design, taken off the final bill. It becomes a cancellation fee if you cancel
- Booking
- Phone, website form, Facebook or Instagram
- Website
- trickboxtattoo.com
- @trickboxtattoo
(Price source: Trick Box Tattoo "Price", in Japanese)
The website's news and blog haven't been updated since 2018, but the studio was posting on Instagram almost every day in October 2026. Prices may have changed, so confirm them when you book.
TATTOO STUDIO Gukky (Shizuoka City)
TATTOO STUDIO Gukky is an appointment-only studio in Suruga Ward, Shizuoka City. It's run by female artist Non with three apprentices, two men and one woman, and the site says male clients can book with the female staff too. The site also marks 2026 as the studio's 11th anniversary. (Source: TATTOO STUDIO Gukky, in Japanese)
Consultations, design and color are free, and there's no deposit. You can come in just to talk, and the studio says it never pushes anyone to get tattooed on the day. Bookings are taken by phone, LINE or Instagram DM, and same-day bookings are possible when there's a free slot. There's free parking on site, a smoking area, and children are welcome.
Non charges ¥10,000 for a coin-size piece, ¥30,000 for business-card size and ¥50,000 for postcard size. The apprentices are looking for models, at prices from ¥3,000 or ¥4,000 depending on the apprentice. Needles, ink and caps are single-use, and equipment is cleaned ultrasonically and then sterilized in an autoclave. (Sources: Menu & Price; Artist, in Japanese)
Gukky doesn't tattoo anyone under 18 or high school students, and you need ID on the day. It takes cash only. (Source: Notes before your visit, in Japanese)
- Address
- 446-2 Nishijima, Suruga-ku, Shizuoka (a white detached house)
- Getting there
- About 15 minutes by car from Shizuoka Station, with free parking. Buses also run from the station
- Hours
- From 10:00, closed on irregular days (the Instagram bio says it's open every day)
- Phone
- +81 90-9421-9011
- Prices
- Non: coin size ¥10,000, business-card size ¥30,000, postcard size ¥50,000. Apprentices: from ¥3,000 or ¥4,000 (model bookings)
- Deposit
- None
- Payment
- Cash only
- Website
- bas-gukky.crayonsite.com
- @tattoo_studio_gukky (Non)
FLAT TATTOO ARTS (Shizuoka City)
FLAT TATTOO ARTS is an appointment-only studio in Takajo, Aoi Ward. Its artist, Satoshi Ohata, opened the studio's predecessor, T3-TATTOOS Shizuoka, in 2004 and renamed it FLAT TATTOO ARTS in 2019. Ohata has done guest work in France, has appeared at tattoo conventions there, and is a full member of 日本タトゥーイスト協会, an association of Japanese tattoo artists. (Source: FLAT TATTOO ARTS biography, in Japanese)
Everything is priced by size, starting at ¥10,000 for even the smallest piece. Business-card or cigarette-pack size is around ¥30,000 and postcard size around ¥60,000. Large pieces such as a full back take several sessions, and you pay in installments session by session. You first book a design meeting, agree the sketch with the artist, and then book the tattoo session. (Sources: Prices; Booking information, in Japanese)
The studio doesn't tattoo anyone under 18 and checks photo ID (a driver's license, passport or My Number card). It has switched completely to single-use cartridge needles and shows its hygiene routine step by step with photos. Its Instagram bio says it doesn't do same-day tattoos.
- Address
- MY Casa Takajo 2F, 1-5-2-2 Takajo, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka
- Phone
- +81 54-266-3319 (book by phone or email)
- Hours
- Not listed on the website
- Prices
- Mini size (up to about a ¥500 coin) from ¥10,000, business-card or cigarette-pack size around ¥30,000, postcard size around ¥60,000, one side of a calf or upper arm around ¥100,000
- Deposit
- ¥10,000, paid in advance toward the price. No fee if you cancel at least 10 days ahead
- Website
- flat-tattoo-arts.jp
- @flat_tattoo_arts
HOCUS POCUS TATTOO (Shizuoka City)
HOCUS POCUS TATTOO is a studio in Ryogaecho, Aoi Ward, that describes itself as "Hocus Pocus Tattoo Since 1994". The website shows work by Makoto and TEN, and Makoto's gallery includes many traditional Japanese pieces such as Fudo Myoo, dragons and the thousand-armed Kannon. (Source: HOCUS POCUS TATTOO)
First you book a consultation by phone, email or LINE, then visit to agree the design and placement. Bring photo ID (a driver's license, passport or My Number card) and a ¥10,000 deposit to the consultation. If you live too far away to visit several times, the consultation can be done by phone, email or LINE. Changing your date the day before or on the day turns the deposit into a cancellation fee.
The studio doesn't tattoo anyone under 18 or high school students who are already 18, and it recommends film dressing (a protective film) for aftercare. Prices and hours aren't on the website, so ask the studio. (Source: How the tattoo process works, in Japanese)
- Address
- Kimura Bldg. 2F, 1-4-12 Ryogaecho, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka (the studio's access page also gives it in English)
- Phone
- +81 54-221-0167
- Prices and hours
- Not listed on the website
- Deposit
- ¥10,000, brought to the consultation
- Website
- hocuspocustattoo.com
- @hocuspocustattoo, @hori_makoto (Makoto)
(Address source: Studio access)
SubLime ink (Shizuoka City)
SubLime ink is a studio in Nishijima, Suruga Ward. Its artist SHUN works mainly in black and grey, realism and fine line, and apprentice YUHA is also at the studio. SHUN's Instagram bio says the account doesn't take traditional Japanese work (wabori). (Source: SubLime ink, in Japanese)
The studio is open every day from 10:00 to 20:00, except public holidays, long weekends and the New Year period. Sessions outside those hours can be arranged for an extra ¥3,000. Prices start at ¥10,000 for a coin-size piece, ¥20,000 for business-card size and ¥35,000 for postcard size, and anything bigger is ¥10,000 per hour. Some months it also looks for models.
First-time clients are asked for photo ID, and the studio may not tattoo you without it. You book by messaging the artist you want on LINE. (Source: Notes and prices, in Japanese)
- Address
- 361-6 Nishijima, Suruga-ku, Shizuoka
- Hours
- 10:00–20:00 (other times on request, +¥3,000). Closed on public holidays, long weekends and over New Year
- Phone
- +81 80-5840-5648 (SHUN)
- Prices
- Coin size from ¥10,000, business-card size from ¥20,000, postcard size (up to 14 cm) from ¥35,000, larger pieces ¥10,000 per hour
- Website
- sublimeink.crayonsite.net
- @tattooshun (SHUN)
Samurai Tattoo Studio (Hamamatsu)
Samurai Tattoo Studio (侍タトゥースタジオ) is artist Horiryo's studio in Mikatahara, Chuo Ward, Hamamatsu. The website lists 23 years of experience in Western, Japanese and tribal tattooing, and the studio also takes cover-ups and continues or touches up work started at other studios. It has belonged to the same tattoo artists' association, 日本タトゥーイスト協会, since 2020. (Source: Samurai Tattoo Studio, in Japanese)
Prices are before 10% tax. A ¥500-coin-size piece finished in one day is ¥10,000, the minimum charge. Lettering starts at ¥20,000, fist size at ¥30,000 and palm size at ¥50,000. For large multi-session pieces, outlines start at ¥20,000 and shading or color is ¥10,000 per hour, with a two-hour minimum. New clients and anyone who needs a design pay a ¥5,500 deposit (tax included) when booking, which is taken off the price.
Consultations, design meetings and sessions are all by appointment, and cancellations must be made at least two days ahead. Needles are opened new in front of you, and machine parts are sterilized in an autoclave. The studio says the prefectural ordinance bars it from tattooing minors and checks your date of birth with photo ID.
- Address
- Room 203, Corpo Seven, 904-5 Mikataharacho, Chuo-ku, Hamamatsu (take the back stairs to the 2nd floor)
- Parking
- Use the parking lot of the yakitori restaurant Kimucha
- Hours
- Mon–Fri 11:00–22:00, Sun 13:00–19:00. For Saturday the website gives both 11:00–22:00 and 11:00–19:00
- Phone
- +81 90-7043-3024 (11:00–22:00)
- Prices
- ¥500-coin size ¥10,000, lettering from ¥20,000, fist size from ¥30,000, palm size from ¥50,000, outlines from ¥20,000, shading or color ¥10,000 per hour, cover-ups and touch-ups of other studios' work ¥12,000 per hour for the first session (all before tax)
- Deposit
- ¥5,500 including tax, for new clients and custom designs. Taken off the price
- Booking
- Phone, LINE (horiryo1), email or Instagram DM
- Website
- Samurai Tattoo Studio
- @horiryo1023
*An earlier version of this article said the studio was about a 4-minute walk from JR Shizuoka Station and gave older opening hours. It is in Hamamatsu, and we've updated the details to match the studio's website in October 2026.
CRAZY CAT TATTOO (Mishima)
CRAZY CAT TATTOO is a studio in Mishima that marked its fifth anniversary in February 2026. It has two artists, shorty and Loa, a female artist, and the site says women and first-timers can feel at ease there. The tattoo area is screened off with partitions and a curtain. (Source: CRAZY CAT TATTOO, in Japanese)
You book with each artist by Instagram DM or LINE. Small pieces can be done the same day if there's a free slot, but you still need to book. There's usually no deposit, although the studio may take one for large or complex designs and deduct it from the price.
Needles, ink, ink caps, gloves and bed sheets are single-use. CRAZY CAT TATTOO doesn't tattoo anyone under 18 or high school students, and you need photo ID. It takes cash only.
- Address
- 3-17 Minamifutsukamachi, Mishima
- Getting there
- 13 minutes' walk from the nearest station on the Izuhakone Railway, or about 10 minutes by car from JR Mishima Station (2 parking spaces)
- Hours
- 12:00–20:00, closed on irregular days. If you arrive within opening hours, it may keep working past 20:00 depending on the size
- Phone
- +81 90-8134-8914
- Prices
- Coin size ¥10,000–15,000, business-card size ¥15,000–30,000, postcard size ¥30,000–60,000, A5 size from ¥50,000. Pieces that take more than a day: from ¥10,000 per hour, two-hour minimum
- Cancellation fees
- ¥5,000 once the sketch has been started, ¥5,000 for changes the day before, ¥10,000 on the day
- Payment
- Cash only
- Website
- crazycattattoo.jimdofree.com
- @crazycattattoo (shorty), @loa.99_tattoo (Loa)
(Price source: CRAZY CAT TATTOO "Price", in Japanese)
OCEAN TATTOO Horikiyo (Shimoda)
OCEAN TATTOO Horikiyo is a tattoo and irezumi studio in Shimoda on the Izu Peninsula. It opened in Nishiizu in 2006 and in Shimoda in 2012. Besides Japanese, Western, tribal and lettering work, the artist also does Japanese-style painting and airbrush art. (Source: OCEAN TATTOO Horikiyo, in Japanese)
Prices include tax: a coin-size piece starts at ¥5,000 and a card-size piece at ¥20,000. Gakubori (fully framed Japanese work) and pieces A4 size or larger cost from ¥13,000 per hour by machine or from ¥15,000 per hour by hand (tebori). The studio says same-day bookings are possible unless it's already booked, and consultations are free. (Sources: Prices; Booking, in Japanese)
It says the prefectural ordinance bars it from tattooing anyone under 18 and checks photo ID. The same page also mentions a parental consent form for minors, so confirm the age rule when you book.
The website's latest news is from 2024 and its Instagram last posted in March 2026. Check that the studio is open by LINE, email or phone before you go.
- Address
- 645-1 Shimoda (call when you're nearby if you can't find it)
- Hours
- 10:00–24:00, closed on irregular days (morning, afternoon and evening slots)
- Phone
- +81 90-5454-2006
- Prices
- Coin size from ¥5,000, card size from ¥20,000, A5 size from ¥45,000, machine work from ¥13,000 per hour, hand-poked work from ¥15,000 per hour (tax included)
- Website
- horikiyo.com
- @horikiyo2006
Shizuoka Studios for Female Artists, Same-Day Slots and Lower Prices
Here's how the eight studios compare on female artists, same-day tattoos and model bookings, based on their websites and Instagram.
| Studio | Female artist | Same day | Model bookings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trick Box | Not stated | Appointment only | Not stated |
| Gukky | Non, 1 apprentice | If a slot is free | Apprentices |
| FLAT | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| HOCUS POCUS | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| SubLime ink | Not stated | Not stated | Some months |
| Samurai | Not stated | Appointment only | Not stated |
| CRAZY CAT | Loa | If a slot is free | Not stated |
| OCEAN TATTOO | Not stated | If a slot is free | Not stated |
If you'd like a female artist, try TATTOO STUDIO Gukky in Shizuoka City or CRAZY CAT TATTOO in Mishima, in the east of the prefecture. Besides Non, Gukky has a female apprentice, and it has parking and welcomes children. CRAZY CAT TATTOO screens off its tattoo area with partitions and a curtain.
On a budget, Gukky's apprentices take model bookings from ¥3,000 or ¥4,000, and SubLime ink looks for models in some months. Leaving model bookings aside, OCEAN TATTOO in Shimoda has the lowest listed starting price, at ¥5,000 for a coin-size piece, but its latest Instagram post is from March 2026, so confirm it's open before you book. Most other studios start at ¥10,000.
For a same-day tattoo, Gukky and CRAZY CAT TATTOO will fit you in if they have a free slot. OCEAN TATTOO also says it takes same-day bookings, but confirm it's open first. None of them invites you to just walk in, so message or call first. Trick Box Tattoo and Samurai Tattoo Studio are appointment only, and FLAT TATTOO ARTS doesn't do same-day tattoos.
You can narrow your search by city on Tattoo Japan.
Frequently Asked Questions About Tattoo Studios in Shizuoka
Can tourists get a tattoo in Shizuoka?
Yes. Tattooing is legal in Japan: in 2020, Japan's Supreme Court ruled that tattooing by an artist who is not a doctor does not count as medical practice under the Medical Practitioners' Act. (Source: Supreme Court of Japan, 2020, in Japanese) None of the eight studios says on its website that it works in English, so message them with reference images and the size and placement you want. HOCUS POCUS TATTOO lets clients who can't visit several times do the consultation by phone, email or LINE.
Is there a tattoo studio in Hamamatsu?
Samurai Tattoo Studio is the only Hamamatsu studio listed on Tattoo Japan as of October 2026. It's appointment only and doesn't mention a female artist on its website. Tattoo Japan also lists Horiaki in Kakegawa, a Japanese-style artist whose Instagram bio names Kakegawa, Hamamatsu and Takamatsu in Kagawa as places of work. Horiaki has no website, so check Instagram for availability and prices. (Source: Horiaki on Instagram)
How much does a small tattoo cost in Shizuoka?
Most of these studios charge from ¥10,000 for a small piece. Gukky's apprentices take model bookings from ¥3,000. OCEAN TATTOO in Shimoda lists the lowest regular price, from ¥5,000, but its latest Instagram post is from March 2026, so confirm it's open before you book. Larger pieces are usually ¥10,000–15,000 per hour, while FLAT TATTOO ARTS quotes by size. Prices depend on the design, so ask for a quote first.
Can I walk in without an appointment?
None of the eight studios says it takes walk-ins. Gukky and CRAZY CAT TATTOO can tattoo you the same day if they have a free slot, so message or call them before you go. OCEAN TATTOO in Shimoda also says it takes same-day bookings, but confirm it's open first.
Where can I get traditional Japanese tattoos (irezumi) in Shizuoka?
In Shizuoka City, HOCUS POCUS TATTOO shows a lot of Japanese work, and FLAT TATTOO ARTS takes on large Japanese pieces such as back pieces. Samurai Tattoo Studio in Hamamatsu and OCEAN TATTOO in Shimoda, which also offers hand-poked tebori, do Japanese work too. Large pieces take several sessions, which is hard to fit into a short trip, so ask how many sessions yours will need.
Do I need ID to get tattooed?
Yes. Shizuoka Prefecture bans tattooing anyone under 18, and every studio here checks ID. FLAT TATTOO ARTS and HOCUS POCUS TATTOO list a passport as accepted photo ID, so bring yours.
Can I go to an onsen in Shizuoka with a tattoo?
Rules differ from bath to bath. On Tattoo Japan, 30 of the 39 onsen and saunas listed in Shizuoka Prefecture accept tattoos and 4 more accept them with conditions, as of October 2026. With a new tattoo, ask your studio how to bathe and care for it before you go.
Is there a temporary tattoo I can try first?
Jagua tattoos stain the skin with fruit extract instead of needles. At Gukky, only Non does them. They last about two weeks, and a coin-size jagua costs ¥4,000. The studio takes under-18s for jagua but turns them away if their family objects. (Sources: Menu & Price; Notes before your visit, in Japanese) You can browse jagua tattoo designs on Tattoo Japan.
Summary: Choosing a Tattoo Studio in Shizuoka
Pick a studio you can reach, check the artist's portfolio for the style you want, and read the pricing, deposit and ID rules before you book.
For a female artist, try Gukky or CRAZY CAT TATTOO. To try a small piece cheaply, ask about Gukky's apprentice model bookings. For traditional Japanese work, HOCUS POCUS TATTOO or FLAT TATTOO ARTS. In Hamamatsu, Samurai Tattoo Studio. If you're still working out your budget, these guides can help:
*Based on each studio's official website and Instagram as of October 2026. Prices and hours can change, so check with the studio before you book.
























